Skip to main navigation.
Twitter Icon Image Facebook Icon Image Pinterest Icon Image YouTube Icon Image

Your Co-op

Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative is one of 17 distribution cooperatives in North Dakota. It serves some 6,000 members on 4,700 miles of line in an area that stretches from the Minnesota border nearly to Ashley, and from the South Dakota border to Jamestown. From headquarter offices in Milnor and Edgeley, and outposts in Wahpeton, Hankinson, Oakes and Gackle, 42 employees work full-time to provide members with electricity and to improve the quality of rural life.

Formed from the consolidation of James Valley Electric Cooperative and RSR Electric Cooperative in 2000, Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative is one of 700 electric cooperatives across the nation that is branding itself as a Touchstone Energy Cooperative. As such, Dakota Valley Electric must serve its customers with the highest levels of excellence. It must also provide evidence that it truly "has the power" of the Touchstone Energy brand: integrity, innovation, accountability and commitment to community.

Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative distributes electricity supplied by Basin Electric Power Cooperative and Western Area Power Administration. A member of the North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative is governed by a nine-member board of directors that are elected by members in district elections held each year.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Cooperative Action Network Youth Tour